Alongside the main WAF award categories are a host of special prizes awarded to projects that demonstrate excellence in a particular area. These prizes are awarded to projects submitted into the main WAF awards.

How do I enter?

WAF's special prizes are awarded to projects who enter into the main WAF awards. Entrants do not have to pay any additional fees to be considered for the prizes. Simply tick the relevant box on the entry form when submitting and increase your chances of winning at WAF!

Shortlisted projects for each prize will be revealed in July 2023 and all finalists will go on to compete at the live-judging at WAF in Singapore, each prize will have a panel of three expert judges. The overall winner for each prize will then be revealed at the Gala Dinner on the final day.

Start your entry into the main WAF awards now to be considered for a WAF special prize.

    The 2023 Special Prizes

    Use of Colour 

    The Best Use of Colour Prize celebrates the creative use of colour in architecture, both inside and out.

    The Engineering Prize 

    This prize will be awarded to a completed building or future project that showcases excellence in engineering and a focus on structure.

    Small Project of the Year

    Any completed buildings project can be entered, the only criteria is that it is judged to be small for type!

    The Futureglass Prize

    Supported by Aestech

    This prize will award the project that best demonstrates new ways in which glass and glass technology has been deployed

    Best use of Natural Light

    Supported by VELUX

    This prize is to award completed building projects that showcase a unique use of a daylighting. Special emphasis will be put on projects that consider the impact on human well-being.

    International Building Beauty Prize

    Supported by Royal Fine Art Commission Trust and Ballymore

    This award will be made to a building which ‘raises the spirits.’ Finalists will be chosen from projects from within the completed building categories.

    Best Use of Certified Timber Prize

    This prize is awarded to the completed building project with the best use of certified timber.

    Additional Prizes

    Student Charrette 2023

    WAF is reintroducing the global student design charrette as an integral part of the 2023 Festival. Student teams are invited to submit proposals related to the theme ‘Catalyst’ by August 2023.

    Architecture Book of the Year Award

    Publishers are invited to submit entries to the inaugural Architecture Book of the Year Award programme. Entries for 2023 are now closed.

    The Architecture Drawing Prize

    Curated by WAF, Make Architects and Sir John Soane’s Museum, TADP celebrates the importance of drawing as a tool in capturing  architectural ideas.

    The Architectural Photography Awards

    This prize highlights the expertise of the architectural photographer, translating the sophistication of architecture into a  understandable two dimensions.

    The Visualisation Prize

    The fourth-annual Visualisation Prize, supported by Lumion rendering software, brings the worlds of architecture and visualisation closer together.


    What is WAFX?

    Launched in WAF’s 10th year, WAFX celebrates international proposals which embrace cutting-edge design addressing major world issues. Ranging from tackling the climate emergency to building community resilience.

    How to enter

    WAFX finalists will be chosen from the WAF Future Projects shortlist with no additional cost or material needed from the entrant. Finalists will go on to present their project live at WAF in Singapore with an overall WAFX winner announced at the Gala Dinner.

    2022 winners

    The Tower of Life by BAD + Guallart Architects was the overall WAFX 2022 winner with a further 19 exemplary projects shortlisted. View the winners to see how architects across the world are responding to complex problems in imaginative ways.

    Founder Partner

    Headline Partners